SoFi
SoFi
Data verified on unchanged since the sources
Worth it if you're in the US and want banking, crypto trading, investing and the SoFiUSD stablecoin under a rare national bank charter, with 0% FX fees.
Avoid it if you live outside the United States (US-only) or want self-custody: it's custodial and doesn't yet allow withdrawing crypto to an external wallet.
SoFi is a US neobank that combines banking, crypto trading, investing and the SoFiUSD stablecoin on Ethereum and Solana, with no FX fees. Its strength is the all-in-one offering under a national bank charter, but the service is available only in the US and the SoFiUSD stablecoin, launched in May 2026, is still very new.
Data & conditions
| Account fee | Free |
|---|---|
| IBAN | condiviso |
| Multi-currency | No (single currency) |
| Outbound transfers to third-party IBANs | Yes |
| Utility direct billing | No |
| SEPA direct debit (SDD) | No |
| On-chain crypto withdrawal | No |
| Interest on balance | 3.8% |
| ATM withdrawal | not declared |
| Fund custody | Custodial (platform holds funds) |
| KYC | Full |
| Supported countries | US · 1+ countries |
| Regulator | FinCEN / OCC / SEC |
| OAM Italy registration | No |
| Segment | B2C |
| MiCA / License status | National Bank Charter (2022) OCC bank charter (USA) |
Plans & pricing
Strengths
- Neobank + crypto + invest + SoFiUSD stablecoin on ETH/Solana; 0% FX.
- No notable sovereignty advantage documented.
Weaknesses
- US only; SoFiUSD still new.
- Custodial: the platform holds your funds and can freeze or lose them.
- Full KYC required: verified identity, zero pseudonymity.
- Subject to regulation (OCC bank charter (USA)): reporting to authorities and freezes on order.
Verdict
The A rating rests on a rare national bank charter (OCC) combined with an all-in-one offering of banking, crypto trading, investing and the SoFiUSD stablecoin, with 0% FX fees. The consumer limit is US-only availability, while the SoFiUSD launched in May 2026 is still too new to weigh on the verdict.
Its own stablecoin on Ethereum and Solana is the most crypto-native detail, but SoFi stays custodial with full KYC under a federal bank charter: funds and keys belong to the institution. For anyone after self-custody and trustlessness, a bank-issued, bank-controlled stablecoin moves nothing.
Promp's editorial rating based on real fees and net annual cost. Promp reviews third-party products independently.
"Sovereignty" rating: score computed on privacy/anonymity (30%), fund control (20%), censorship resistance (20%), trustless/auditability (20%) and costs (10%). Same data, different weights.
Reputation
What happened to people who used SoFi, and what users say. External signals: they do not feed the promp.it rating.
Incidents & regulatory actions
Notable incidentsDocumented events with consequences still open. Each entry carries a source and a date.
-
Data breach Severe ✓ resolved
Social engineering against the bank's internal systems: name, date of birth, contact details and employment data of at least 38,049 customers exfiltrated between 31 December and 3 January — national total never disclosed
The source is the breach notification SoFi itself filed with the Washington State Attorney General on 26 January 2026, signed by Valerie Franch, Associate General Counsel, Privacy, «on behalf of SoFi Bank, N.A., and Social Finance, LLC». Official wording: «On or around January 2, 2026, SoFi discovered unauthorized activity in its systems, which occurred as a result of social engineering». So not a technical exploit: someone was granted access. What was taken, in the notification's words: «name, address, email address, phone numbers, date of birth, and employment and education information of approximately 38,049 state residents» were «acquired by the unauthorized actor». What was not taken, which SoFi also puts in writing in the customer letter: «this scammer never had access to your password, account number(s), or debit/credit card number(s)». No member accounts were compromised and, as of the notification date, there were «no reports of fraud, identity theft, or compromises of consumer accounts» linked to the incident. ⚠️ The number to read carefully: 38,049 counts Washington State residents only, because that is the one figure that state's law compels. **SoFi has never made a national total public.** Estimates between 500,000 and 1.6 million customers circulate online: they come neither from SoFi nor from a recognised outlet, and so are not written here as fact. The certain figure is 38,049 in a single state, and the overall order of magnitude remains undisclosed. Timeline, from the Attorney General's official record: unauthorized access between 29 December 2025 and 2 January 2026, data exfiltrated between 31 December and 3 January, notification on 26 January — within the 30 days required. «No unauthorized activity has been observed since January 3, 2026». SoFi says it engaged CrowdStrike and other outside advisors and notified law enforcement; for customers it applied «additional monitoring and other safeguards» on accounts, with the practical consequence that it may ask for extra information from anyone contacting support or trying to change their account. 📌 One thing is missing, and it shows: the notification **offers no credit monitoring service** to those affected. The attachment is limited to generic instructions on obtaining your own free credit report and placing a fraud alert or freeze with Equifax, Experian and TransUnion. On a breach exposing date of birth and employment data, that is a choice the user pays for out of pocket.
↗ source -
Data breach Moderate ● open
Unauthorized access to a database at the SoFi Securities (Hong Kong) subsidiary through a third-party vendor: vendor, customer count and data categories never disclosed
⚠️ Perimeter first: this breach concerns **SoFi Securities (Hong Kong) Limited**, the subsidiary offering investment and securities services to customers in the Asian region, not the US neobank described in this entry — which operates in the US only. It is here because it is the group's second confirmed security incident in four months, not because it touches users of the American account. The facts: SoFi confirmed unauthorized access to a database at SoFi Securities (Hong Kong) Limited that occurred **through a third-party vendor**. Discovery is dated 30 April 2026; customer notification and press coverage come on 8 June 2026. The company said it engaged external cybersecurity professionals and advised customers to enable two-factor authentication, monitor their accounts and stay alert to phishing attempts. What was not said is the most relevant part, and is recorded as such: SoFi **did not disclose the vendor's name**, **did not state how many customers were involved**, did not list the categories of data exposed, and declined to answer further questions. At the time of disclosure it stated: «We do not yet have complete information about the scope and impact of the incident». No definitive count has been published since, nor the start date of the unauthorized access: this is why the date on the entry is that of **discovery**, the only certain one. The incident stays open for that reason, not because something is happening right now: without a figure and without the data categories, a Hong Kong customer has no basis to know whether they are among those affected.
↗ source
verified on
FAQ
Is SoFi a real bank?
SoFi operates under a National Bank Charter (2022) licence (US). Fund protection: FDIC $250k.
Can I send transfers to third-party IBANs with SoFi?
Yes, SoFi allows outgoing transfers to third-party IBANs, like a traditional bank account.
Does SoFi support direct debits and utility billing?
SEPA direct debit (SDD): not documented. Utility-bill domiciliation: not documented.
Which fiat currencies does SoFi support?
The number of supported fiat currencies is not documented. Multi-currency accounts: not supported.
Can I withdraw crypto on-chain from SoFi?
No: SoFi does not currently allow withdrawing crypto to an external wallet (a feature announced as coming soon).
Sources
- Official service page Plans & pricing · Regulatory framework · Issuer · Savings interest · +2 Data verified on Jul 16, 2026
- investors.sofi.com Latest funding round · Supported stablecoins · Crypto Data verified on Jul 16, 2026
- support.sofi.com Deposit guarantee · On-chain crypto withdrawals Data verified on Jul 16, 2026
- bitget.com On-chain crypto withdrawals Data verified on Jun 15, 2026
Show 11 more sources
- mofo.com Valuation Data verified on Jun 15, 2026
- pitchbook.com Investors Data verified on Jun 15, 2026
- bossmoney.com Plans & pricing Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- d18rn0p25nwr6d.cloudfront.net Trust & safety · Issuer Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- d32ijn7u0aqfv4.cloudfront.net Plans & pricing Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- fortune.com Issuer Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- hackerone.com Trust & safety Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- nerdwallet.com Plans & pricing Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- rescana.com Regulatory framework Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- trustpilot.com Trust & safety Data verified on Jun 14, 2026
- umbrex.com Company profile Data verified on Jun 14, 2026